British Chevening Scholarships for International Students

Date: 2016 Feb 29

Brief Description

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The programme makes awards to outstanding scholars with leadership potential from around the world to study postgraduate courses at universities in the UK. The programme provides full or part funding for full-time courses at postgraduate level, normally a one-year Master’s degree, in any subject at any UK university.

Host Institution(s):

Any university in the UK

Field(s) of study:

Any subject at any UK university, but you should check your country page for priority areas.

Number of Awards:

Around 1500 scholarships globally will be offered.

Target group:

The scholarships are targeted to citizens of Chevening-eligible countries. See the official website for complete list of countries eligible for Chevening scholarships.

Scholarship value/inclusions:

A Chevening Scholarship normally covers tuition fees; a monthly living allowance, an economy class return airfare to and from the UK, and additional grants and allowances to cover essential expenditure. Some scholarships cover part of the cost of studying in the UK; for example, tuition fees only or allowances only. Please check the individual country pages for more details.

Application instructions:

Applications are currently closed. Applications for Chevening Awards can only be submitted using the Chevening online application system, available through the ‘apply’ button on your country page starting 3 August 2015. The application deadline for the AY 2016/2017 is 3 November 2015. It is important to visit your individual country page at the official website for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website: